Sunday, July 12, 2020

90th Anniversary Year wraps up in fine fashion

October 31, 2014 by  

Huge night to celebrate huge year

The Queanbeyan Tigers 90th Anniversary year was a huge success. As was the annual Tony Wynd Medal Black and Gold Presentation night which  wrapped up the year in fine style.

Around 220 players, supporters, sponsors, volunteers, coaches and parents celebrated the 2014 season at the gala presentation night held at the Hotel Realm.

The significance of the event was reflected in the fact that local radio station QBNFM broadcast their 5-7pm show live from the foyer of the Realm and interviewed many guests as they arrived for the evening.

Nicole Lawder MLA, Liberal Member for Brindabella (and mother of Alex) added an air of political clout to the night with her attendance to help celebrate her son’s premiership year.

Master of Ceremonies, and club goal kicking legend, Michael Niesen followed in the footsteps of other notable recent MCs, Paul Walshe and Joel Feuerherdt, and did a masterful job of keeping the proceedings ticking along.

Sarah Strong, an interpreter, was on hand to translate proceedings for our hearing impaired guests.

Special ‘thank yous’ went out to Members of the Board of Directors of the Tigers Licensed Club including President Gary Bullivant and his wife Claire. The Tigers Licensed Club are our Major Financial Contributor and we thank them for their contribution that keeps us on the park.

Daryl and Robyn Jenkins represented the Canberra Trophy Centre. The team at the Canberra Trophy Centre put in their usual enormous effort throughout the year with production of numerous awards and plaques, and as usual, did a fantastic job in presenting trophies for the presentation night.

Although they were apologies for the night, the club thanked major sponsors including: Dairy Farmers, Canberra Data Centre, ActewAGL and Tony Innaimo Transport and all other sponsors in attendance.

Our enormous band of volunteers were thanked and presented with a small token of appreciation. Their importance to our club, and the level of respect in which they are held, can be best summed up by the crowd’s reaction of a standing ovation as they left the stage area.

Following the official proceedings local band “ICON Unplugged” (featuring our very own Bec Goddard along with Adelaide Jones) played their acoustic set and drew party goers to the dance floor to finish off the celebrations.



Full list of award winners

Under 18 Grade Awards  
Club Award Noel Miller
Coaches Award Mitch O’Toole
Most Improved Will Delchau and Sam Hawksworth
Most Determined Jed Simpson
Most Consistent Alex Page
Alan Muir Medal – B & F Brandon Lagana and Matthew Grocott
Tigerettes Awards  
Club Award Kristen Turner
Most Improved Keely Johnson
Coaches Award Hannah Dunn
Most Consistent Melissa Hurley and Fallon Lieschke
Runner Up Best and Fairest Mikaela Eldridge
Jill Bright Medal – B & F Ella Ross
Off Field Awards  
Tigers Spirit Award Dennis Quade
Best Club Person Award Lynne McKenzie and Graham Harmer
Volunteer of the Year Ray Daniel
AFL Canberra First Grade Awards  
Club Awards Steven Camp and Hayden Kelly
Most Consistent Alex Lawder
Runner Up Best and Fairest Jack O’Halloran
Noel Miller Medal – B & F Cambell Griggs
Special Awards  
Tigers Rising Star Jarrod Thompson and Jackson Smith
Michael Haddock Medal Ben King
Dane Quade Medal Sam Jensen
Armstrong / Niesen Medal Brett Fruend (35 goals)
Alan Stein Medal Jeramey Edwards
NEAFL Awards  
Club Award David Smith and Ryan Quade
Most Determined Daniel Johnson
Most Consistent Jarrod Atkinson
Runner Up Best and Fairest Joshua Bryce
Tony Wynd Medal – B & F Kade Klemke


Thank you

Thanks to Lisa Zhang, Matt Shelton and the Hotel Realm for the magnificent meal and hospitality.

Thanks to club sponsor Tyrell’s Wines for the pre-dinner wine and table wine.

Thanks to Ron Fowlie, Lynne McKenzie, Lisa Bush and Joan Vosnakes for helping set up the room.

Thanks to Judy Mustard for guiding the visual displays throughout the night.

Thank Sam Franks and Judy Mustard for their photography and all people who offered photographs from throughout the season for our records and archives, including professional photographer, Ben Southall.

A huge thanks to Sam Franks for the hours of work she put in to printing and laminating all of the table placemats.

Thanks to Rosemary Hague and her staff at City Florist for the floral centre-pieces on the tables, the room decorations and the bouquet of flowers for our female volunteers.

And last but not least thanks to all the sponsors, administrators, volunteers, supporters, mums, dads, brother, sisters, partners and players who made our 90th Anniversary such a memorable and successful year.


Comments are closed.