Wednesday, June 19, 2019

Raising of Flag.

March 26, 2013 by  

In front of a strong contingent of supporters, sponsors and former players the Tigers NEAFL team were honoured by way of raising the 2012 NEAFL Premiership flag last Sunday. The flag was presented to Coach Kade Klemke and Captain Ryan Quade by Chairman of Football Bob Gibbs.

The Tigers launched their 2013 campaign by way of introducing many sponsors in attendance and then by way of introducing ten new inductees into the Michael Haddock Walk of Honour – the inductees being acknowledged for their contribution of playing 200 hundred club games.

All ten inductees were prominent 1st grade players in their day including former Captain Coach James Black with 191 1st Grade games to his credit.   He failed the 200 1st Grade game mark due to chronic knee injuries.

Other to be inducted were Dave Hunter, Van Rakowski, Renee Ioppi, Phil McClure, Roger Cuschieri, Michael Niesen, Robin Schelberger, Dennis Quade and Rod Gisik.

Former player / coach and prominent sponsor of the Tigers Club Paul Walshe conducted proceedings from the ActewAGL tent and in closing thanked the many contributors to the function including that of Robin / Darryl Jenkins, Kylie and Kane Cawse of the Canberra Trophy Centre (plaques), Frank Palombi of Brindabella Concreting , Michael Kennedy and Allan Mapleson of Mart Delicatessen at the Fyshwick Markets (catering) and finally to Jane and Dave Haddock for their continued sponsorship of the Walk of Honour.

Leave a Comment

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!